Empty Closets: A support forum for LGBT and allies

So you’ve browsed blogs, watched YouTube videos and maybe stumbled across some writings on the internet, but you might need a different type of support. Maybe you want to ask your own questions, or connect with people like you.

Empty Closets is a forum where you can do that. You might have heard of it, but if you haven’t, you should go check it out. They have different sections for different identities, the ability to participate in discussions anonymously. They have even added a section for parents/family of LGBTQ people that also want support.

This website and the community formed by it have definitely helped me find the courage to cope and come out.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Empty Closets: A support forum for LGBT and allies

  1. Check your link to Empty Closets- it didn’t work when I clicked on it. I googled it and it looks like a good site. You can correct it by editing the post, modifying the link (test it in preview) and updating the post.
    Thanks for posting the info.

  2. AudreyB

    I’m happy for you that you’ve enjoyed a positive experience as a transperson at EC. I’m a former member and while I’ll say the member base is great, I didn’t find the all-gay admin staff to be very trans-friendly at all. But that’s just my experience as a newly-transitioned woman (at the time). YMMV

    • I’m sorry that you didn’t have a good experience. I haven’t been on there in a while, but I think there are trans people on staff now. Having admin reflect the population is very important in any setting. You bring up a very valid observation.

Leave a Reply

