A new year, new profs

I’m lucky enough that I only have a couple professors this semester that don’t know I’m trans. In this case though, both professors are for Spanish classes, and in that language, more words than pronouns have gender. Adjectives do as well. On professor hasn’t replied yet, but the other one simply said:

Estimado señor Transiteration,
No hay problema!
Hasta martes,
-Profesor

This translates to “Dear Mr. Transiteration, No problem! Until Tuesday,”

I’m excited about that class (and the other Spanish one) because I think it’ll have pretty much all people that I don’t know. It’ll be a possible opportunity to go stealth, which I haven’t really done before. I guess it just depends on my voice. I’ve been working on it. I’m pretty sure my voice is pretty low for a biologically female voice, but pass-ability is iffy. I haven’t worked on it too much before though, so I’m hopeful a bit of effort will help.

Either way, people are gonna have to use the right pronouns/adjectives in those classes because otherwise it’s gonna be grammatically incorrect. Muahaha. I’ll let you know if the correctness actually happens.

Have you ever had to come out to professors? Have you ever been able to pass just based on working on your voice alone?

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under trans/lgbt stuff

8 responses to “A new year, new profs

  1. urbanmythcafe

    I’ve been doing real good on the phone. In person, my voice is borderline. But, when you make or receive a phone call, the first few lines are pretty routine. I have it down pretty good now, enough so that people from my past are a little unsure of who they are speaking with, and others always correctly gender me.
    It is a nice feeling.

  2. I think appearance affects how your voice is interpreted and maybe vice versa.

  3. When I was fifteen one of my Dad’s clients mistook me for him on the phone and started telling me a bunch of work related stuff. Then my Mom got made at me for embarrassing him, like I’d tried to make him think I was a middle aged man. I don’t have the most feminine voice on the planet apparently. No, not relevant but anyways…

    I did see something that was relevant a few days ago. I’ll see if I can dig it up… and it’s a mobile app you can use to train your voice: http://commonhealth.wbur.org/2014/08/transgender-voices

  4. Ahaha, that’s great. And thanks, I’ll check it out. By the way, the other professor just replied and he said yes too. Feeling lucky to be at my university. Loved your pasta story too; I’ve had my fair share of pasta disasters!

  5. I nominated you for the Lovely Blog award recently and just got a head’s up that no one got ping backs for the award, so I’m offering a belated congratulations! The information is here: http://secretlyfabulous.wordpress.com/2014/09/06/pronouns-and-the-lovely-blog-award/

    Also I threw out the pasta 🙂

Leave a Reply

